Martin, oh Martin.

My dear friend, Martin,

This is in reply to your comment. (click here to read it.)

As you must be fully aware, I was myself a member of the GLSA and I still have a copy of the GLSA constitution and all the rituals. I concur; that is indeed what the GLSA constitution says.

You wrote -: “For the best will on earth, I cannot read your understanding into the official document.”

I must admit to be equally astounded at your inability not to see my point of view! However, I must also add that I had been a mason for 15 years and it took the profound experience of being saved to open my own eyes to the truth! So allay all fears, I actually have great sympathy for that fact, (that you do not comprehend my viewpoint – or that you feel I do not comprehend yours!)

I draw your attention to your point (4), that reads as point 4 in the Declaration of the GLSA constitution-: (I have underlined/emboldened the point I wish to emphasise)

“4. while South African Freemasonary thus inculcates in each of its members the duties of loyalty and citizenship, it reserves to the individual the right to hold his own opinion with regard to public affairs. But neither in Lodge, nor any time in his capacity as a Freemason, is he permitted to discuss or to advance his views on religious or political questions.”

So, it is very clear then from the above that a freemason is not allowed to talk about Jesus Christ (which must be seen as a matter of religion) whilst in Lodge. This is tantamount to a denial of Christ and all who are thus in agreement (to uphold that rule) are actively denying Christ! You can prove this statement to be true: just stand up in Lodge in the presence of the Grandmaster (or any other high ranking Masonic official) and commence to witness about Jesus Christ and the good news of the gospel. You will immediately be reminded of point 4 in the declaration of your very own constitution and be asked to refrain from religious discussion or to leave the Lodge.

Thus Christ is denied!

Christ is denied, because he said: ‘He said to them, “Go into all the world and preach the good news to all creation.” (Mark 16:15).

So, being a mason in a Lodge meeting you find yourself in a position where you are actively being enforced to deny Jesus Christ! If you are not allowed to talk about Him you are denied to talk about Him! Thus is Christ denied by all, including yourself!

Jesus gave this command to ALL who believe in Him; to go into all the world and to preach the gospel. Freemasonry forbids us to accomplish the Great Commission given to us by the King of Kings, by the Name above all names. If you are in agreement to this then you place freemasonry and its rules above the direct will of God! What about this do you not understand?

Jesus is very clear on this matter: “But whoever denies Me before men, him I will also deny before My Father who is in heaven.” (Matt. 10:33)

And then you must not be surprised to hear Him say to you on the day of judgement:

“Depart from me, you who are cursed, into the eternal fire prepared for the devil and his angels.” (Matt. 25:41).

In the end, as is the case with all of life, it involves a decision. Our life literally revolves around decisions. This is a life or death decision. I chose life! What about you?

7 Responses to “Martin, oh Martin.”

  1. Aaron Says:

    Again you lie! This is amazing! You are anti-Christ and you and your family will burn in hell for your perfidy and slander of good people.

    “…in his capacity as a Freemason” means when meeting Masonically with other Masons, or, when representing Masonry in a debate with, oh say, a freak psycho like John Ankerberg. The Fraternity does not endorse a specific religion and will not allow its members when representing the fraternity to endorse a specific religion.

    However, on his own time, a Mason may say “Jesus” as much as he wants, preach Christ’s Gospel, and attempt to convert as many people to Christianity as he wants. Many do just this.

    Masonry has no more effect on the Great Commission than public comment time at your local City Council, where your efforts to preach the Gospel to those gathered to discuss the building of a new park, will not be tolerated.

    Stop telling lies.

  2. sethpickens Says:

    “Can I be a Christian and work for the U.S. Postal Service?” At the post office and many other places, you can’t verbally profess Jesus, but I hope you don’t see that as cause to quit the job. St. Francis of Assisi said to preach the gospel at all times, and when necessary, to use words. It’s possible to be a shining example and witness of Christ’s love without saying a word.

  3. anothermouse Says:

    Aaron,
    Where exactly did I lie?
    I said “in Lodge”, that is “as a mason”, whilst you are gathered with your mason friends at a Masonic meeting, THAT is when a mason may not speak about religion. I never mentioned what he may or may not do OUTSIDE of masonry. (That is irrelevant to this debate).
    I never slandered anybody and have always maintained that masons are good people! (Good people don’t go to heaven, believers do!)
    Wherever one is not allowed to carry out the Great Commission, the same applies, not just at a mason’s Lodge! Yet this blog focuses on freemasonry and how it relates to being a Christian.
    Read carefully!

    sethpickens,
    Thank you for your comment. If my employer forbids me to talk about Christ at my place of work I would seriously consider changing jobs. What is more important, your temporal wellbeing, or your eternal destiny?

  4. Martin Says:

    Dear Anothermouse

    You hit the nail on the head, the difference between us is that our insight and understanding of the Afrikaans and English language differs. I must confess that English is my third language and I am only a Freemason the past 20 years. Funny that you should mention the Grand Master and the lodge, the question can we use Jesus’s name in the lodge prayer was put to him and the answer was, why not? Lodge meetings are well structured with an agenda and minutes, why on earth would one try and change that into an charasmatic prayer event? There is a time and place for everything. Freemasonary is not a religion nor a church. I am attaching the “Testimony” of David S Julian with his writtin permission, please feel free to cantact him directly DSJulian@comcast.net

    MY TESTIMONY

    In 1983 I petitioned to join Daylight Lodge #232 of the Grand Lodge of Free and Accepted
    Masons of Washington. I joined for this reason: the three men I admired most were Masons, and I
    wanted to be like them.

    The first was Frank Viegas, a Seattle Police Officer, who was the kindest man I had ever met.
    He was loved and respected and a friend to everyone as he walked his beat in the University District.
    I was proud to be present and perform at his installation as Worshipful Master of Doric Lodge in the
    Fremont District.

    The second was George Wilkinson, the owner of a small music store in Des Moines, Iowa, and
    a benefactor to all who worked on the road as professional entertainers. George did so many favors
    for all of us that I was one of dozens of musicians who, even ten years later, would not purchase so
    much as a guitar pick from anyone else. Ironically, I did not find out George was a Freemason until a
    year after he passed away.

    The third was my father, John Julian, who I admired because of his military-style discipline and
    his huge heart for hospitality. When he was in the Air Force stationed overseas, our house was the
    place during the holidays and other special times where the servicemen could come for a great meal
    and a few beers to help them get over the loneliness of being away from their families and loved
    ones. Later, as Master of Maintou Lodge #68 in Colorado, that spirit of hospitality extended to his
    Lodge as he, with my mother’s help, often fed hundreds of people at Masonic charity fundraising
    events.

    Six years later I became the Master of Daylight Lodge, took the 29 Degrees of the Scottish Rite,
    and joined the Shrine. Then in 1991 I was appointed Grand Organist for the state Grand Lodge, went
    on the Public Relations Committee in 1993, Grand Organist again in 1996, and Grand Bible Bearer in
    1997.

    How Freemasonry led me to the Bible

    Taking the office of Grand Bible Bearer most seriously, I began a voracious study of the Bible.
    Even though at the time I was not a Christian (I was a Deist), it was at this time when I completed my
    first self-published book David vs. Goliath? an apologetic coming to the defense of Christian
    Freemasons who were being ruthlessly and falsely accused by some misguided separatist
    neofundamentalist Christians on the Internet. After it received rave reviews from some national
    Masonic periodicals and newsletters, I began getting requests for copies in the USA and Europe, and
    I made several appearances giving lectures to Masons and non-Masons alike. In 1998 I became
    Deputy of the Grand Master in District 5 (one of three districts encompassing downtown Seattle) and
    the highest ranking officer in the District, in the absence of the state Grand Master, for my two year
    term.

    How the study of the Bible led me to my Pastor

    In 2000, my wife Beverly and I, along with my partner, Bill Bissell, opened our Data Recovery
    business. That freed me up to go with Bev to a Wednesday morning Bible study group that has been
    headed up by some of the most knowledgeable Pastors and Ministers in Seattle’s south suburban
    churches. I am so thankful to them (Especially Pastors John Egerdahl, John Kennington, and Dennis
    Sawyer) for being so patient with me and taking the time to answer my myriad of questions about the
    Bible and Christian doctrines.

    How my Pastor led me to the church

    Pastor Sawyer invited Bev and I to attend his Church, appropriately named The Church by the
    Side of the Road (or CBSR, for short) which turned out to be very close to where we live. CBSR is
    nondenominational (by its Constitution), has a great program of youth and adult education classes,
    supports a number of recovery group programs, and accepts everyone “just as you are,” with a widely
    diverse congregation in age, economic background, and ethnicity.

    Since we were married in 1990, Bev and I had been looking for a church where we both could
    participate in doing good for and with others, sharing our talents and lives, and basically feeling like
    we were part of the greater Family of Man. We sought a congregation that would meet Bev’s
    requirements that it would be a give and take arrangement, where we could help ourselves and
    others to grow physically, spiritually, and mentally, and where we could ask hard questions about
    denomination-specific doctrines and creeds and get real answers — not shrugged shoulders, the
    brush-off, or ridiculous and simplistic rejoinders.

    At first I was hesitant to go because I have not been very happy with the churches I have
    attended in my past. As an infant I was Christened in the Church of England, and I was submersion
    baptized in a Southern Baptist church in Alexandria, Virginia as a preteen after attending Vacation
    Bible School for a summer. At varying times I have attended churches of several different
    denominations. All of them were anxious to accept my time, talent and money, but none of them
    appeared to be the least bit concerned about the ultimate destination of my soul.

    My wife, Beverly, already a devout, born-again Christian, had been involved in several
    contemporary evangelical, charismatic, and fundamentalist Christian churches, until she became
    disillusioned with their pandering to ulterior profit motives, personal aggrandizement, and their
    blatantly unchristian attitudes toward others along sectarian, racial, and economic lines.

    My requirements were much steeper than Bev’s. I needed to be shown that a church could be
    more than just an eclectic gathering of people that need an easy escape from personal responsibility
    for their past (or current) bad behavior. I needed to know the congregation would follow the path and
    guidance of a strong leader, and, through his example, we would all share the mysteries of God
    through the study of the Bible and other related evidence toward the ultimate truth, wherever it might
    lead. And if there was a way of bridging the gap between my confused, juxtaposed perceptions of
    Jesus the man and Jesus the God, hopefully, he and they, would help me to find it.

    How the church led me to the Lord

    Early in 2001 I had a life changing experience. At the end of one of Pastor Sawyer’s sermons,
    he asked if anyone would like to know the Lord better, they should come forward. I heard a clearly
    audible voice in the aisle next to me ask, “Will you go with me?”

    And I replied, “Yes, I’ll go with you.” I soon found myself on my knees at the foot of the altar.

    Since that defining moment, I have come to see the deity of Jesus, not as a provable fact in the
    material world, but strictly as a matter of faith in the spiritual. So directly due to Christ’s intervention, I
    moved from a Deist with objections to a Christian with questions. Hard questions. Like where do you
    draw the line between theology and relationship? Why are some Christians afraid to answer for their
    beliefs? Why are there hundreds of Christian denominations arguing and fighting (sometimes to the
    death, literally) over trivial details like which which Greek or Hebrew text is more representative of the
    original? Should the Bible be taken literally? Are Paul’s words the words of man, or the words of
    God? And many, many other questions that eventually turned out to be completely unimportant.

    I have always been aware of the immense power of faith. But for me, that faith had to be based
    on reality and truth — not on vain repetitions, dogmatic credos, or even wishful thinking. My greatest
    spiritual thorn is my analytical mind, and the outspokenness that goes along with it. At the same time,
    my most tragic worldly flaw is my bulldog-like tenacity for the truth, the whole truth, and nothing but
    the truth, so help me God. And that’s why I find myself searching, researching, and studying the Bible
    and Christian dogma virtually every day. In May Bev and I officially joined the membership and are
    now regularly attending CBSR.

    How the Lord changed my life forever

    The clear spiritual message that came along with this audible message was: I need your help to
    feed my sheep. How could I turn Him down? After all, the startling revelation was that Jesus had died
    for me, that He might take on my sins and my sinful nature, and that He was resurrected that I might
    receive the promise of eternal life.

    I’m very active at CBSR now. I participate in the music ministry, either in the Praise & Worship
    Team or the Festival Choir, have shared my testimony and participate regularly with the monthly
    Men’s Fellowship meeting, I’ve regularly attended and taught Adult Education Classes (where I am
    often my most attentive student), and I have been blessed by being able to accompany Pastor
    Sawyer on some special occasions outside the Church. Bev and I are also participating with Mike
    Premo’s Christians in Recovery and Seattle Recovery Fellowship ministries to prison inmates and
    recovering addicts, and I am a member of Jazz Gitan…Americain, (www.jazzga.com) a jazz trio that
    goes into jails and prisons to present a program we call “Jesus and All That Jazz” under the umbrella
    of Prisoners for Christ.

    I’m currently Grand Organist again, and a member of Walter F. Meier Lodge of Research #281,
    an Honorary Past Master of Century Lodge #208, Past Master and Organist for Daylight Lodge #232
    (Seattle’s Premier Lodge of the Fine Arts), and Organist for St. John’s Lodge #9. St. John’s is one of
    the oldest and most influential Lodges in the state with a philanthropic budget of close to $300,000 a
    year. St. John’s Past Masters include such famous Seattle names as Denny, Yesler, Maynard, and
    Meany. In 2003 I was awarded the Grand Master’s Achievement Award, given to only one Mason in
    each district each year.

    I thank God every day for my Church, my wife, my business, my Lodges, and my life – and
    especially for the way God worked in His mysterious ways to lead me from the Masonic Lodge, to the
    Bible, to my Pastor, to my Church, and ultimately to the assurance of my salvation through Christ
    Jesus.

    “Light has come into the world, but men loved darkness instead of light because their deeds were evil.
    Everyone who does evil hates the light, and will not come into the light for fear that his deeds will be
    exposed. But whoever lives by the truth comes into the light, so that it may be seen plainly that what he
    has done has been done through God.” — John 3:19-21 (from the New International Version)

  5. Martin Says:

    Dear Anothermouse,

    Let me try again, my previous post disappeared in cyberspace. It seems that our insight and understanding of the Afrikaans and English lanuage is not the same. “But neither in Lodge, nor any time in his capacity as a Freemason, is he permitted to discuss or to advance his views on religious or political questions.” cannot mean “Christ is denied” and will not stand the test of a “reasonable man” in any court of law. You are playing with words to sustain your own arguments in your quest to to decide on behalf of God who is right and who is wrong. When I applied for my current work (for the past 32 years) there was certain conditions (discussions on politics and religion not allowed) and I accepted it. When I joined Freemasonry there were certain conditions that made good sense and still do, I accepted it well knowing what it meant. Denying Christ was not one of them and is still not. I fully understand the reasons why certain rules are neccesary. Look at the bigger picture, we cannot allow that Freemasonry become a religion, church and place of worship because that is not the reason for it’s being. See below the tesimony of David S Julian with his written permission.

    (Since it is an exact repeat of the above, I have removed the rest of your comment)
    A.

  6. Aaron Says:

    “So, being a mason in a Lodge meeting you find yourself in a position where you are actively being enforced to deny Jesus Christ!”

    This is insanity! No one is forced to deny Jesus in a lodge ever! When a Christian Mason prays to the Great Architect of the Universe, he is confident in his mind that he is praying to Jesus.

    One the dollar bill it states that “In God we Trust”

    So riddle me this, is this some pagan god in which we place our trust? Or do Christians read it as Christ, Hindus as Vishnu, Buddhists as a great life force, Jews as Jehovah, Muslims as Mohamed? Or do you believe that the use of the generic “God” leads to apostasy and synchronicity, and the worship of false idols or demons?

    When the President takes his oath of office to “God” (many times on a Masonic Bible) in front of Christians, Jews, Muslims, Hindus, Buddhists, Wiccans, etc. is he taking an oath to a false God because each of these faiths views this “God” as their own?

    Please justify for me why you simply do not hate all of these people from different faith traditions when you demonize them and imply that they are going to hell (along with the like of Hitler), worship demons, and are a cause of evil, but when I suggest that evangelical Christians are narrow minded, ignorant, dupes fooled into worshiping the bible as an idol this is “hate”.

  7. Martin Says:

    Dear Anothermouse,

    Our insight and understanding of the Afrikaans and English lanuages are not the same.
    “But neither in Lodge, nor any time in his capacity as a Freemason, is he permitted to discuss or to advance his views on religious or political questions” Cannot and does not mean Christ is denied, your reasoning will not stand up to the “reasonable man” test in any court of law. Stop living in a dream world and face reality.

    Below the testimony of David S. Julian a saved Freemason with his written permission. Feel free to contact him direct dsjulian@comcast.net

    (I have once again deleted the testimony that you copied here as it is presented above).
    A.

Leave a Reply

