Letter to a Friend.

Hallo Dear Friend,

You may find it strange indeed that a complete stranger should call you by such an endearment; a dear Friend. Yet, I do so most sincerely and from the bottom of my heart. I mean it. After all we are all brethren, aren’t we?

For some time now I have been receiving mail from you, by some small mistake or oversight perhaps, and have been privileged thereby to some insight into the goings-on of your Provincial Grand Lodge. I see you have attained the rank of Provincial Grand Master and from your writing one can detect that your heart must be filled with that satisfying pride that comes with hard earned success and achievement. I would have liked to have known you. It is obvious you are enjoying your term intensely. I sincerely miss the warm friendship, the brotherhood, the close fellowship with like-minded dear, dear folk, just like yourself.

You see, I once was one of you. For the better part of 15 years I joyously traversed the country-side with tux and apron and partook in what I firmly believed to be a most honourable and worthwhile undertaking. I really came to enjoy it; the lofty ideals of brotherly love and tolerance, the majestic and ancient old landmarks of worthy morals and men stretching out to achieve them, the glowing warm contentment in the heart when yet another milestone work for charity had ben achieved.

I met and befriended the dearest of people, genuine folk – the best. I loved ritual work especially and started rising steadily through the ranks, a true ambassador of the Order, always keen to defend and promote it, and tolerant (never disrespectful) to those poor misguided folk on the outside that criticised us so harshly without knowing the first thing we stood for. Oh, if all the whole world would just become masons like us, the world would be a better place. I eventually rose to the rank of Assistant Provincial Grand Master and rumour had it that I was destined for higher.

So, what could have changed this happy circumstance, you may well ask.

Now, in order to join Freemasonry, one has to be able to truthfully testify to a belief in a Supreme Being. This in itself seem to be a very laudable precondition and I must admit, it was one of the things that helped clinch the decision for me at the time of my initiation. Having never been a non-believer perse and having been brought up in a Christian, church-going home, the very fact that a belief in a God was such a firm prerequisite, dispelled many possible doubts one could have fostered. After all, how is it possible then for such an organization to be anything but good and God-fearing, right? So, I was initiated and immediately taken in by the warmth and sincerity of the brethren. Those great ideals, “ the greater moral good”, and that seemingly impossible dream of a “Brotherhood of man” took root in me and flourished. I was sold.

To me, The Great Architect of the Universe had always been the God of the Bible. It never really entered my thoughts that to others the GAOTU represented or might represent some other deity or deities. And even if it did I doubt it would have made a difference. You see, my notion of Christianity at the time correlated perfectly with my beliefs regarding Masonry. I could not understand at all how anybody could see a contradiction between the two! God is love, right? And the masons say, lets be tolerant and love our neighbours. So, where is the problem?

I thought and felt that way for a long time. One night, not very long ago, the profoundest thing happened to me. For the first time in my life I heard the Gospel explained to me with such clarity and eloquence that it took me to the brim of the abyss; for the first time I realised my terrible predicament before God (the same one we all share, by the way). And to crown it all, His glorious love for all of us – that he forfeited His only begotten Son, so that you and I could live! For the first time ever I saw how well I was on my way to be lost for ever – yet the Saviour held out his hand. I took it and was saved! This salvation is freely available to all of us. It is there for the asking.

In the experience I had with the Lord, Masonry was not on the agenda at all. However in the days and weeks that followed the realization came to me that Masonry is no place for a Child of God, which is what I had become, having accepted Jesus as my Lord and Saviour. For the first time in my life I became a serious scholar of the Bible and it soon became abundantly clear to me that there is absolutely no way a true follower of Christ can reconcile Masonry with his walk with the Lord.

It was a sad day in my life when I tendered my resignation. Almost immediately erstwhile “brethren for life” turned their backs, never to be heard from again. It was painful to loose so many good friends at once but if one considers the alternative, there was just no other way.

So what is my take on Masonry and the Masons now? It is the same as always. I still love every single Brother and pray for them often. I still believe that Masonry is an honourable organization that does a lot of really good things. Unfortunately though, it stands in conflict with the God I serve and all my brethren that I left behind are still blinded to this very important fact. This is a matter of grave concern to me and to this cause have I pledged myself – to get the message out to as many brethren I can.

You mention Ecclesiastes 12 in your letter. It was (and still is) one of my favourites. ”Fear God and keep his commandments, for this is the whole duty of man”.

That is very good council. That very same God makes it abundantly clear in His Word that He is the only God. There is none other. How can a person that truly fear (live in reverent awe and obedience to) this same God be voluntarily bonded to an organization where His commandments are compromised for the sake of relationships with men and mankind? And this is just one example of the conflict I mentioned. There are countless others.

When all is said and done none of us can be forced or coerced into one way or another. We must each decide for oneself individually, just as we will be judged one day individually. You sound like such a genuine and good person. Please consider what I have said and pray the Lord for guidance.

May God bless you and keep you,

Eternally,

A.

3 Responses to “Letter to a Friend.”

  1. P. S. Says:

    I’ve been reading a lot of disturbing things about masonry. Disturbing to me because my father, a devout Christian man was a high degree mason. I can remember him saying the same things that all these web sites say the blue lodge members are taught as partial truths. I can remember him going to out of town consistory meetings and so on, but after a while he became totally inactive, for at least the last fifteen years of his life.

    My mother has told me he became disgusted with them because they acted like going to lodge was a substitute for going to church. He was always secretive and non-committal about what went on. He never encouraged anyone else in the family to join related organizations, although he was well known and liked and could have arranged an invitation if he had thought it was something we ought to do.

    I so hope that from this sequence of events as I remember them, it means that when he got to the higher levels, he realized what it was about and appeared to drift away because he was really running away.

  2. LJ Says:

    my grandfather is a 3rd dagree freemason. he is also a christian that has went to church every sunday his whole life. i got interested in the masons a few months ago and started reading about it. i will read his handbook soon. and also talk to my uncle about this christianity vs. freemasons since my grandfather has got him to want to become a mason. i myself have only recently began devoting myself to christiany. although my beliefs are that you do not have to go to church to be a christian and go to heaven (your thought on this will be appreciated to) and am going to be baptised soon. im just wondering how i could approach the subject with my grandfather. he is a stubborn old man and i just want him to listen and think about the subject and not ignore what i have to say.

    thanks,
    LJ

  3. Peach Says:

    This is the only thing on this Blog I can stomach.. If this Brother doesn’t feel that his membership in Masonry is compatible with his belief in God I respect that. The writer of this letter did not tell lies about the fraternity. He simply said its not compatible with his view of Christian dogma. I just wonder if this Brother quit his job so that he’s not not bonded to an organization that allows non-Christians to be employees.

Leave a Reply

